more info
Concord Group
Photo Credit: Henry Harms


University of Saskatchewan Huskie women’s hockey head coach Steve Kook was honoured by the CIS as the Coach of the Year.

Kook received the award this season after winning it at the Canada West level for the second time in three years. It is the first major CIS award won by the Huskie women’s hockey program.


In his fifth campaign behind the bench, Kook led the Huskies to a program-record 16-5-3 mark in league play, good for third place in Canada West, just one point behind 2008-09 conference champion Manitoba (18-6-0). It was a major improvement from a year ago, when Saskatchewan went 10-13-1 and finished 22 points out of the second spot. The Huskies were ranked in the CIS Top Ten all season in ‘09-10 and pushed Manitoba to the limit in the playoffs, dropping a heartbreaking 3-2 decision in Game 3 of a best-of-three Canada West semifinal series.

In five seasons, Kook has guided the Huskies to 50 wins, 10 more than they had in the first eight years of the program’s existence. Kook joined Saskatchewan in 2005-06 as a part-time coach and, in 2008-09, was named the first-ever full-time women’s hockey coach at the UofS. Prior to joining the Huskies, he was the head coach of the SAIT (CCAA) women’s hockey program in Calgary from 2002 to 2004. In 2001, he was co-coach of the gold-medal team at the senior national women’s championship and, in 2005, was general manager of the under-18 Team Saskatchewan.

“Steve is a wonderful example of the type of coach we have here at the University of Saskatchewan,” said UofS Athletic Director Basil Hughton. “He is hard-working, a leader, dedicated, and has true commitment to take the women’s hockey program to the next level. This all translates to his players and the type of athletes he brings to the program. Steve is well-deserving of this award."


Moncton’s Denis Ross, McGill’s Amey Doyle and Queen’s Matt Holmberg were also in running for the award.

The Huskie women’s hockey team was given more good news when third-year forward Breanne George was named a CIS First Team All-Canadian.  George becomes the first Huskie women’s hockey player to ever be named an All-Canadian.

A highlight reel player for the Canada West throughout the season, George scored a conference-high 28 goals and 18 assists in 24 games. Throughout the season she has been a thorn in opponent’s backs scoring multiple goals in eight games this season including six in one weekend. She had five game winning goals throughout the season. Her 28 goals tied the all-time Canada West goals scored in a single season record.

The Kinesiology student has been named Huskie Athletics athlete of the week three times this season, Canada West Female Athlete of the Week twice and the CIS Female Athlete of the Week twice.  In her short career, George was a Canada West Second Team All-Star in 2008-09 and finished the season with 96 career points and 53 career goals.

The Huskies season came to an end after losing in three games in a Canada West best-of-three semifinal to the University of Manitoba Bisons. The 2-1 win in Game 2 was the first playoff win by the Huskies since 2004.

After a program-best season the Huskies look to continue their push to be a dominant hockey school in the Canada West. The Huskies will lose two parts of their leadership after captain Chelsea Purcell and alternate captain Shaye Christiansen who both graduate after five years with the team. Both have been big parts of the turnaround of the Huskie program. Both joined the team in 2005-06 and have become big parts of the turnaround for the UofS women’s hockey program. Both sit tied among athletes for all-time Canada West games played. Purcell has been the captain of the team for the last three seasons and is the Huskie all-time leader in assists with 49. Christiansen sits second on the Huskie all-time goal scorer list with 32. Purcell will graduate with a Bachelor of Science in Kinesiology and Christiansen with a Bachelor of Nursing.



Brodrick trophy (player of the year): Liz Knox, Wilfrid Laurier

Rookie of the year: Caitlin MacDonald, Manitoba

Coach of the year, presented by Coaches of Canada: Steve Kook, Saskatchewan

Marion Hillard award (outstanding student-athlete – community service): Kaitlyn McNutt, Dalhousie


First Team


Position           Athlete                                    University       Year    Hometown                  Faculty


Goaltender       Liz Knox                     Laurier             4          Stouffville, Ont.                       Sociology

Defence           Cathy Chartrand          McGill             3          Lac Nominingue, Que. Education (Physical & Health)

Defence           Caitlin MacDonald       Manitoba         1          Winnipeg, Man.                       University 1

Forward           Ann-Sophie Bettez       McGill             3          Sept-Iles, Que.             Management

Forward           Mariève Provost           Moncton          4          Laval, Que.                  Kinesiology

Forward           Breanne George                       Saskatchewan  3          Saskatoon, Sask.          Kinesiology


Second Team


Goaltender       Stacey Corfield                        Manitoba         5          Winnipeg, Man.                       Nursing

Defence           Kelsey Webster                        York                5          Duncan, B.C.               Health & Society

Defence           Nicole Pratt                  Alberta             3          High Prairie, Alta         Agricultural Life & Environmental Sciences

Forward           Tarin Podloski             Alberta             5          St. Albert, Alta.                        Agricultural Life & Environmental Sciences

Forward           Vanessa Davidson       McGill             5          Kirkland, Que.             Education (Physical & Health)

Forward           Rebecca Conroy          Queen’s           4          Pembroke, Ont.                        History


All-Rookie Team         


Goaltender       Mel Dodd-Moher         Queen’s           1          Ottawa, Ont.                Biology

Defence           Caitlin MacDonald       Manitoba         1          Winnipeg, Man.                       University 1

Defence           Rayna Cruickshank     UBC                1          Cumberland, B.C.        Arts

Forward           Kim Deschênes                        Montreal          1          St-Quentin, Que.          BAC 120

Forward           Candice Styles             Laurier             1          Orangeville, Ont.         Sociology

Forward           Abygail Laking                        StFX                1          Cambridge, Ont.          Human Kinetics

Summer Sport Camps
Athlete Wall of Fame
Summer Sport Camps
Direct West
Sponsor Logos

Men's SportsWomen's SportsGame DayTicketsGet InvolvedInside Athletics